Posted by: malia | August 21, 2015

saturday 9: hello dolly

busy day tomorrow so getting this out now…

Saturday 9: Hello, Dolly (1964)

1) This song is about a woman returning to the town where she was happiest. How many towns have you lived in?
just two. 🙂

2) Crazy Sam played Ernestina in her high school production of Hello, Dolly! and still remembers one of her lines: “Hey, you with the big ears! What are you doing after the show?” Tell us something that you memorized for school that is still rattling around in your brain.
we had to recite our statement of appreciation upon demand when i was in 7th grade. every class i had made us take a written test of the statement (rather, it was several statements, totaling 69 words), and teachers could stop us in the hallway and command us to recite orally. thus, that statement is forever etched into my brain. i knew it all through high school and even 25 years later, it spills out of my mouth without me even having to think about it. my son and niece go to the same school, and i can recite it right along with them, without any lapse to think of what comes next. the mind is scary, sometimes.

3) This week’s featured artist, Louis Armstrong, got his start entertaining diners on riverboat dinner cruises. Have you ever taken a dinner cruise?
no, i haven’t. i wouldn’t mind, though. i’m kinda over planes right now.

4) Armstrong took his nickname, “Satchmo,” from “Satchel Mouth” — a slang term for someone with a wide mouth, which Louis believed was his most distinguishing feature. What do you think people notice first about you?
my big, fat belly.

5) In 1936, Louis became the first African American to get featured billing in a Hollywood movie. Have you seen any of this summer’s big movies?
i saw a couple of them.

6) When “Hello, Dolly” composer Jerry was growing up, he was close to an aunt named Belle who encouraged his love of music. Tell us about one of your aunts or uncles.
wow. hmm. i have 2 aunts and 2 uncles on my mom’s side and 3 uncles and one aunt on my dad’s side. i haven’t seen any of those on my mom’s side for a couple of years; i haven’t seen any of those on my dad’s side in years. one of my uncles is semi-famous, having played in the nfl. i have another one who models, which i didn’t know about until i was googling his name one day to find his email address and saw some images that made my eyes pop out. i was closest to my aunty, my mom’s little sister who was about 15 years older than me–she would always dance with me while playing her carole king and phoebe snow albums, she would braid my hair and put make-up on me, and she taught me to crochet. then she got married and moved out of my grandma’s house and i rarely saw her any more. even today, she rarely comes to family functions, and especially since my grandmother passed–i think that was the last time i saw her. she joined Facebook so i thought we could keep in touch but she never posts anything so i don’t know what’s going on with her. she’s a workaholic is all i know!

7) Though famous for composing the scores of Hello, Dolly!, Mame and La Cage Aux Folles, Jerry Herman can’t read music. Can you?
i can read treble clef. i have to stop and remind myself of the order if i’m reading bass clef.

8) Now retired, Mr. Herman lives in Miami. This is Miami’s “wet season,” which lasts into October. When did it last rain where you are?
yesterday! it was most welcome! it’s been so darn hot and humid! i would often look at the sky, shake my fist at it, and say, “just rain already! ugh!” and it did yesterday afternoon–pretty heavily, too. it was nice and cooling, even though it was heavy enough for a flash flood alert.

9) Random question: Have you suffered a sunburn this summer?
not in the summer, but i got a pretty bad one back in late april. well, no, it wasn’t bad like blistering or anything but enough that it stung and i think i still have the tan lines from that one since my neckline was quite rounded that day. and i was only in the sun for a half-hour, with the kids practicing for may day, which is why i didn’t have the normal applying of sunscreen that i usually do if i know i’m going to be out in the sun since i burn quite easily. it was just a half an hour in the sun, and just out on the playground (not like at a beach or anything!), and i got burnt! darn my fair skin!

Responses

  1. I get terrible sun burns if I’m out for any time. The joys of being a redhead!

    • ugh! i am always very careful about putting on sunscreen if i’m going to the beach or hiking or something, but i don’t even think about the every day stuff like being out on the playground for yard duty and such! especially when it’s not that long, and then i come back in and notice my cheeks are pink and feel warm! that was fast!

  2. I envy your knowledge of music.

    • aw thanks but i do want to be able to read both staffs at the same time! i can sight read treble but am so, so slow at the bass one. i envy those that can play the piano with both hands, seeing both staffs at the same time and playing them! i’d get too mixed up!

  3. Why are you over planes? Did you have a bad trip? I enjoyed reading about your family.

    • thanks! i just had a long, long trip over the summer filled with lots of delays and switching of planes and dealing with swollen ankles and feet and seat switcheroos and giving away of my seat…ugh. i’m so over it. i’ll be happy to not ride a plane for a long, long time.

  4. I’m thinking that a lot of us have those bellies too

    • everyone likes to pat mine 😦 especially my nieces.

  5. That “on demand” reciting of a statement of appreciation sounds frightening! What would have happened had you not been able to?!?! No wonder you still remember it.
    My mom lives in Hawaii and she’s also suffering through the humidity and the heat. Blech! Hang in there.

    • we would have detention, i think. i didn’t know anyone who couldn’t do it! we all pretty much were scared to NOT know it! 😛

      and thanks! yes, it’s been so hot and humid. i usually don’t mind the heat, but it’s been so hot that it’s even bothering me. ugh. i just want it to rain!


Leave a Reply

Categories

