Posted by: malia | January 17, 2015

saturday 9: zing went the strings of my heart

Saturday 9: Zing! Went the Strings of My Heart (1939)

1) This song is about love at first sight. Do you believe that immediate attraction lasts?
no, but i’m of a pessimistic variety. i’m sure it can, but there’s gotta be more under there than the immediate attraction, and to find that is very, very lucky.

2) The lyrics mention “a breath of spring” and robins singing. Now that we’re deep into winter, what do you miss about spring?
there’s really not much difference between winter and spring here. i’d miss spring break, but our winter break is actually longer. 😛

3) Though the world knew her as Judy Garland, this week’s featured artist was born Frances Gumm and her family called her “Baby.” Does your family have any pet names for you?
yes. my sisters call me a shortened name of a misspelling one of my cousins wrote of my name when he was trying to make a “keep out” sign. they thought the misspelling was hilarious and so they called me by that name and now their husbands also call me by that name because they’ve heard my sisters call me that all these years. my mom’s pet name for me still gives me a warm feeling every time i hear it…she’s the only one who calls me that, so it just makes me feel nice and tingly to hear it.

4) Because she was petite — just 4’11 — it was obvious when Garland gained even a few pounds and consequently she battled her weight her whole life. Now that we’re in the new year, have you made any resolutions about your own diet?
i have, but i haven’t had much of an appetite recently, so it hasn’t really come into play. i’m more trying to stick to the exercise portion.

5) The year this song came out, 1939, was the year Garland’s most famous movie, The Wizard of Oz, was released. Which of her three traveling companions is your favorite: Scarecrow, Tin Man or Cowardly Lion?
gosh, i don’t remember them that well! it’s been a long time since i’ve seen the movie. there are so many heartless people around me that having a tin man around wouldn’t be any different. well, maybe because he wants a heart, that will be different. the cowardly lion would irritate me, i think, but not because of the way he is, but the way he talked, if i remembered correctly. and i don’t remember much about the scarecrow except that he was always falling down, which would take the attention off my trips, so that might be good. 😛

6) Barry Manilow enjoyed Judy’s performance of this song so much he did a “dream duet” with her and included it in his recent CD. What performer who is no longer with us do you wish you could have seen in concert?
i think i would’ve liked to see a michael jackson concert, just because it seemed like a big production with lots of dancing and stuff.

7) Judy had a terrible problem with tardiness. Are you usually prompt?
usually. sometimes i do lose track of time when i’m on the computer, though, which can make me late for things like my niece’s soccer games. but for more … i don’t want to say “important” but ones where i need to be somewhere instead of a more fluid come when you want … i’m prompt, even annoyingly early.

8) During World War II, Judy worked tirelessly to entertain the troops. Tell us about a cause that’s near and dear to your heart.
i have always tried to support american heart association things just because there’s a lot of family history with heart-related diseases and they have annual things that i can help out on. in the past decade i’ve given to a lot of breast cancer charities, and it’s something i hope they can find a cure for soon, when thinking about myself and friends that i have lost to it.

9) The American Film Institute lists Garland as the 8th greatest movie star of all time. Who is your all time favorite actor or actress?
i don’t know that i have one. i know whom i can’t stand… 😀 but as far as my all-time favorite? i don’t know that i can pick one.

Responses

  1. I couldn’t really pick a favorite actor/actress either. I’m just not that into that sort of thing.

  2. I am so with you on the computer thing. Once I start on it, it’s easy to lose track of time.

  3. I can relate to that ‘getting sucked in
    to the computer thing and losing track of time.

  4. I used to be very early but now I work at being on time.

  5. I wish I was in Hawaii right now, we had freezing rain all day and it finally got above freezing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

