Posted by: malia | January 4, 2015

sunday stealing: 2014/15 meme

2014/2015 Meme, part one

1.What one event, big or small, are you going to tell your grandchildren about?
going to see my atlanta braves play the new york mets at turner field! 🙂 at least, i tell my dad’s grandchildren about it 🙂 (my dad was so jealous i got to go)

2.If you had to describe your 2014 in 3 words, what would they be?
“many different journeys”
from the literal journey to atlanta to the journeys i’ve taken in my career (new position, so new responsibilities) and new medical things that have cropped up…it’s been a year of just trying to get through things

3.What new things did you discover about yourself?
i waver between wanting to be left alone and being recognized for things i do

4.What single achievement are you most proud of?
the things i’ve had to get ready for my new position. i’ve tried to learn as much as i can and implement those things in my daily work and i think i did pretty good with that. so far.

5.What was the best news you received?
it wasn’t cancer. twice.

6.What was your favourite place that you visited in 2014?
besides turner field, i loved the georgia aquarium. i saw whale sharks! beluga whales! sea otters! it was so cool.

7.Which of your personal qualities turned out to be the most helpful this year?
i guess it was part of the single achievement thing…i’m not afraid to try new things i’ve learned, and i love learning, so that really helped me in my new position. instead of being closed-minded and saying “that will never work” (as a lot of my colleagues are grumbling about), i just embraced it and made it work for me. change is good.

8.Who was your number one go-to person that you could always rely on?
oh, that’s hard. for a long time, it was my sister, but she’s really changed the past couple of years, and i don’t think i can rely on her as much as i could before. it would be my mom, although i don’t like to burden her so much with my things. but she was a major support for me when i was dealing with my medical stuff.

9.Which new skills did you learn?
i’ve learned a lot about technology (my whole reason for going to atlanta was to attend iste) and how to incorporate it into the curriculum. i’ve used technology a lot, but now i know more about the new things you can do with technology that is meaningful, and not just for fun and games.

10.What, or who, are you most thankful for?
i am thankful for my mom still plugging along with her fragile health. i am thankful that my health scares turned out okay–i’m still not in the best health and am still dealing with a couple of issues that scare me, but i’m thankful the two i faced this past year have at least been put on the back burner for now.

11.If someone wrote a book about your life in 2014, what kind of genre would it be? A comedy, love story, drama, film noir or something else?
drama. it’s always about drama. 😛

12.What was the most important lesson you learnt in 2014?
don’t be afraid to shake up the old way of doing things.

13.Which mental block(s) did you overcome?
i don’t think i’ve overcome it as when it happens again, i’ll still be the same way, i’m afraid.

14.What 5 people did you most enjoy spending time with?
family & friends. 🙂 they know who they are ♡

15.What was your biggest break-through moment career-wise?
when my boss asked if i wanted to take on this new position. finally, recognition!

16.How did your relationship to your family evolve?
i’m not sure. i think i got closer to my nieces. i tended to spend more time with this sister and her family since my other sister has really changed. as far as members in the outer families…we’ve grown far apart. once my grandma passed away, there seemed to be no reason for all of us to come together any more, so we kinda all just drifted apart and didn’t see each other as often as we used to.

17.What book or movie affected your life in a profound way?
hmm. i know there wasn’t a movie but let me think about that book…

18.What was your favourite compliment that you received this year?
i’m trying to think of a professional one but hm. i would think my boss having faith in me to do this was a big compliment, but it was never actually stated as a compliment. when i went to atlanta, i got a lot of compliments on my hair and eyes. a LOT. atlanta people are just lovely, in my opinion. 🙂 no one compliments me at all here! heehee.

19.What little things did you most enjoy during your day-to-day life?
lately, i’m enjoying spending time with my one bunny. my other one passed away just before christmas, and because he’s lonely and depressed now, i let him out more than i usually do, and he comes and snuggles by me. i just love that. and i like when my son wants to play games with me or shows me stuff. he rarely does, so when he does decide to share something, i know it’s special. 🙂 so i guess that’s not day-to-day, but i enjoy just having him around. which is a major ‘duh’ but oh well! 😀

20.What cool things did you create this year?
i’ve done quite a few videos and made some ibooks for my class. i think they’re cool, anyway. 😛

21.What was your most common mental state this year (e.g. excited, curious, stressed)?
it was pretty stressed. there were a lot of medical things that totally stressed me out, and that led to workplace stress as parents were mad that i was out. my colleagues who missed 2 weeks on their trip to disneyland didn’t get any hell; but i got a lot of it for being out 2 weeks for my surgery. 😦 *sigh*

22.Was there anything you did for the very first time in your life this year?
i went to atlanta. 🙂 and after hearing warnings all this time about how i’m a good candidate for getting cancer, i’ve had to deal with that for the first time this year. and then i lost one of my best buddies to cancer. that was hard to deal with, and although it wasn’t the first time i’ve lost someone to cancer, it was the first time i lost someone my age to cancer. that was rough.

23.What was your favourite moment spent with your friends?
the best times are just hanging out. not really doing anything special, just hanging out and enjoying each other’s company are my favorite moments.

24.What major goal did you lay the foundations for?
i did a lot of work-related goals. now i know for this year, i need to make a lot of health-related goals.

25.Which worries turned out to be completely unnecessary?
i worried a lot that i had cancer, and my mind went to all the deep, dark places with that. it turned out for naught, but it still haunts me as it could be something very real that i have to deal with in the future.

Responses

  1. No cancer is huge! 😉

    • it is, and i’m grateful. it just makes me wonder why i was spared and some others i know are not. scary stuff!

  2. I’m glad it wasn’t cancer. I understand the worry, since I have an undiagnosed and painful issue. It’s hard not to worry that it’s something terrible. I hope you have a better 2015.

    • thanks! yes, i still have another thing going on that’s undiagnosed–or at least, the doctors seem to think it’s all in my head. *sigh* i get myself sick with worry over that, as well. it’s hard not to think the worse, i think. but thanks for the support and i hope you have a better 2015, too!

  3. Cancer scares the stuff out of me. I can’t believe it’s still around.

    • yes, it’s surprising how many people have it now–they say it’s all the changes that have been made food-wise and technology-wise. they really need to find out how to stop it!

  4. So glad you don’t have the Big C. And congratulations on the promotion at work. Yay!

    • thanks! it’s not really a promotion, but it’s just an extra title, i guess. more responsibilities. but i’m kinda glad to be thought of as one that can be counted upon now, rather than someone just on the side, if that makes any sense!

  5. I have heard too much bad news concerning cancer and friends this year, so good to hear one story with a happy outcome!

    So glad you got to go see the Braves play this year. You deserved it. 🙂

    • thanks! i was so giddy with excitement just walking into the stadium. i felt like a little kid again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

