Posted by: malia | June 21, 2014

saturday 9: little red corvette

Saturday 9: LIttle Red Corvette
(recommended by Smellyann)

1) The subject of this song is frankly sexual. Do you blush easily?
it is?! *thinks about lyrics* hmm. i don’t see it. but i do blush easily. i guess i don’t get most of what’s out there, though.

2) Prince is his real name (Prince Rogers, to be exact). Growing up, his relatives called him “Skipper.” Do you have any nicknames within your family?
well, a cousin of mine once misspelled my name and my sisters teased me by calling me by that misspelling. they still do to this day. that’s really the only “nickname.” oh, i call my son a nickname that most people don’t get because it’s nothing like his actual name. but it came from an evolution of different way i would call him over the years.

3) Prince says he’s “obsessed” with Mozart and reads whatever he can find about the composer. What’s the last book you read?
i just finished the book flipped last night. it was interesting. i hated one of the main characters at first but by the end i didn’t like the other main character! i thought that was interesting about how the book is talking about being flipped and how my emotions flipped as well. i didn’t care for the ending, though. it was open, but i didn’t like the direction it headed in.

4) Between Prince and The Beach Boys, the Corvette is a much sung-about car. Tell us about your vehicle.
my car was supposed to have a good warranty (10 years/100K), which is why i got it. plus, it was reasonably-priced. but now i’m finding that the warranty doesn’t cover all that it said it was supposed to. grr. but it’s been pretty reliable, and i’ve been told my co-workers that my car is cute. i don’t care for the color (white) but it was all they had, i was told. i wanted a nice blue, but they said all they had was white. and, of course, two days after i bought my car, i saw someone drive past in a brand new car, the same model as mine, in *blue*! grrr!!!! but anyway it’s nice and small and just right for the two of us, with a pretty big trunk, which you wouldn’t think from looking at it. i sometimes wonder though if i should get a new one, since mine seems to be breaking down. sigh. if only money was not an issue.

5) In the 1980s, when Prince was popular, MTV could turn a song into a hit. In 2014, how do you hear new music?
mostly from the radio or youtube.

6) In 1982, when “Little Red Corvette” ruled the airwaves, Braniff Airways shocked the travel industry and threw passengers into chaos by declaring bankruptcy. When did you last fly? Did your trip go smoothly?
the last time i flew was a year ago this month. it went smoothly. but now hmm i’m getting a bit anxious about the plane rides i need to take next week. :S last year’s plane ride was all of 45 minutes. bearable. next week’s one is 2 5-hour flights just to get there, and then the same coming back. :S i’m starting to get real nervous. i hope it goes smoothly.

7) 1982 is also the year Disney opened Epcot. Have you ever been to a Disney park?
i’ve been to disneyland when i was 10. believe me, i keep seeing all my friends on Facebook taking their families to disneyland and worry that my son is missing out. i would like to take him. although we’re looking at another 5 hour flight. :S but i guess it won’t be too bad with him. i would love to take him to disneyland so he can experience it like all his cousins and friends have, but, again, there’s the money issue. *sigh*

8) 1982 is the year Cheers premiered. The sitcom was set in a bar where “everybody knows your name.” Tell us about your favorite local bar or restaurant.
i don’t drink and i’m not one to go around meeting people, so bars are usually out for me. we do eat at chili’s every once in a while, but not like i sit on the bar side. i like any restaurant that serves up a good steak 🙂 i used to love sizzler–it was only about 3 miles away from my home, and not only did it have steak, but it had an awesome salad bar. but they closed down. so now i get my steak from the chili’s, mostly. as a child, we would go to stuart anderson’s for every special occasion, so that has a lot of happy memories for me, but it’s no longer “local” for me. i have to travel a bit to find one.

9) The 1980s were considered a highpoint in professional tennis, with Jimmy Connors and John McEnroe dominating the sport. Do you play tennis?
no, but my dad did. my dad was pretty good at it. we would all ride with him down to the courts when he used to play, and we would play on the playground nearby while he played his tennis games with his workplace’s league. sometimes when we were waiting for the opponents to show up, he’d hit some balls with me, trying to teach me how to play, but i was never really good at it. now, his daughter with his second wife is a pretty avid tennis player and is doing quite well. he even lamented how she beat him recently, when before he would shrug off that she wasn’t very good. yet another thing that i failed at that he can now get with his second family.

Responses

  1. It is funny how nicknames come from younger family members. We called a cousin Bubby because I could not pronounce her name. I still think of her as Bubby.

    • yeah, i always hear about how other people got nicknames because someone else couldn’t pronounce their name. for some reason though that’s not true for our family. weird.

  2. I knew the song was dirty but chose to ignore the lyrics. 🙂

    • i seriously had no idea! haha! i had heard that quite a number of his songs were sexual, but i really didn’t know that. i just enjoyed the tune.

  3. I haven’t been on a plane in a long time. I don’t know when or if I will ever get on one again.

    • i’m okay with the short island hopping. but the long ones really make me nervous.

  4. My car is light blue and I joke that I got that color because it matches the color of the CT license plates. (in reality it was the only color they had on the lot, but the story sounds better)

    • that’s what i wanted, a light blue! well, i guess i can say that my car matches my license plates as well 🙂

  5. I know what you mean with a small car. When I was able to get rid of my minivan I would not wait to get exactly what I wanted.

    • yeah, it’s nice! i went from driving the family’s minivan to a nice, small car. 🙂 i don’t feel like i’m taking up so much space any more.

  6. We used to have Sizzlers here and I loved their salad bar too. It’s been a long time since they were around though.

    • ours just left in the last year. 😦 then i checked yelp! and found there were none here on the island. i guess they all packed up and closed at the same time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

