Posted by: malia | April 13, 2014

sunday stealing: bonus questions

Bonus Questions Meme

What’s your favorite frozen treat on a stick?
any kind of ice cream kind–i like the creamy better than the juicy. i’m kinda thinking of those chocolate dipped ones with the vanilla underneath. mmm.

What’s your favorite lollipop?
i haven’t eaten lollipops in a long, long time, although i make them quite often. i make fruity ones and stick li hing mui seeds into them. but i don’t eat them myself. when i used to, it varied. i think i was in high school when i loved chupa chups. younger than that, i liked the root beer flavored dum dums you’d get trick-or-treating. every once in a while, we’d get a tootsie pop, which was a score. they were much bigger than dum dums, plus they had the candy center. i never liked blow pops, though–i would trade mine with my sister for her tootsie pop. and, of course, there were those see’s ones that you’d get whenever someone had a baby. i liked the butterscotch flavor.

When you passed notes during class in high school, who was mostly often the recipient?
i never passed notes *during* class–you were supposed to be paying attention!! i passed notes in the hallways *between* classes, though. a friend of mine and i used to pass notes to each other a LOT in 8th grade, until she went kinda…weird. i don’t know what happened. she used to get very jealous if i talked to anyone, so by high school we kinda went our separate ways. but in high school, my most often note-recipient was “daisy,” a name she gave herself because she liked the daisy character in mystic pizza. even into our first year of college, we still wrote notes to each other, although this time, it would be days before we got it, since we had to snail mail each other (she went to loma linda in california). but she would crack me up so much in her letters. i loved getting letters from her, and probably it’s why i still love getting letters.

Who among your high school friends was the first to get his or her own car?
the girl i hung out with during my free period in high school was the first in my whole class to get a car–it was a bright red sports car with license plates that had her name. everyone was so jealous. 🙂 she was in a lot of my classes before senior year, so i knew her, but it wasn’t until senior year when we both had 7th free, and we’d hang out in the counselor’s lounge, that we really got to bond. we ended up writing to each other for at least the first two years of college, in fact (she went to walla walla university). she was also really good friends with a certain someone who went on to become internationally famous, so every once in a while, the three of us would hang out together. but what i really liked about her was that even though she was (or must’ve been) rich, and she was super smart (the only reason she brought her car to school was because she was taking college courses at the same time, so would need to leave campus during 7th & 8th period to attend a nearby community college), she was so grounded, so down-to-earth, so relatable. i mean, yeah, she had her own car, a super gorgeous friend, and smarts, but she never bragged about it. she was always interested in the person she was talking to, and she was funny and caring. it’s rare to meet someone like that.

Who’s the black sheep in your family?
i remember an aunty once referring to herself as that, when i was younger, and my mom trying to reassure her not to think that way. i had no idea what she meant. now, though, i know (she was having an affair and got pregnant by him–she was the first to go through a divorce in that whole family, who were really devout mormons where family meant everything, so, yes, the shun she felt was pretty strong). now? i don’t know. maybe a cousin of mine. maybe even my sister. 😦

Who’s the family historian?
i guess i would be the closest to that title. the above aunty’s mom was the historian, having traced our genealogy back to the first american who settled here. she even had documents he wrote in hawaiian stating that he was born in connecticut, that he had come over on a boat, and that now he was a loyal subject of the hawaiian kingdom. it was pretty cool. as i was studying hawaiian at the time, my aunty gave me all those documents, so i ended up having all those charts and stuff she used to find him. it was pretty neat! i haven’t done anything with them since then, though, (that was in college). maybe i should pass it on to someone.

What was the last thing you sprayed from a spray bottle?
water. i sprayed the birds with water for their bath.

What was the last thing you sprayed from an aerosol can?
hmm. i really don’t know. maybe some pam? that’s the only thing i own in an aerosol can.

When did you last make reservations for something?
gosh. must’ve been for my son’s birthday a couple of years ago.

What’s your next upcoming appointment?
i have a doctor appointment on tuesday. a post-op, i guess. she’s going to check my incisions and hopefully clear me to go back to work. i also hope she will tell me more about what happened, since i haven’t seen her since right before i went under, and she was busy asking another doctor for instruments that are “extra long.” ^^’

What store’s departure from your preferred shopping mall most saddened you?
well, the store overall that departed that left me most sad was borders. 😦 i loved that store. but it wasn’t in my preferred shopping mall. hmm. i’m pretty sad that the candy company left because they made the best bubble tea. they were later replaced by a steak restaurant, so i was pretty happy with that, but then they left, too. 😦 and if you go a bit further down the road from that shopping mall, there’s another where price busters left! i’m so sad that’s gone!!! i loved that store almost as much as borders. i got all my stuff for school there! i have nowhere to go now for that kind of stuff. so sad. 😦

What’s good to eat at your preferred shopping mall?
well, there was that steak place. 😦 the little sushi restaurant was pretty good–when we’d go the first year they were open, we’d often be the only customers. poor sushi chef in the middle would just stand there, so bored, waiting for us to order something. he’d jump to it when he got the order…and then just stand around and wait again. then we’d leave, walk around a bit, and pass by again–no one is in there. that would make me feel sad. but now? gosh, there’s always so many people waiting outside to get in. it’s always packed, no matter what time of day or what day you go. which is good–i’m happy for them, the owners were so nice. but it also means that we never get to go any more. 😦 there’s another restaurant in the strip that makes very good garlic fries, spicy ‘ahi rice, and yummy garlic chicken. mmm.

What services (as opposed to goods) do you pay for at your preferred shopping mall?
my son gets his hair cut at the supercuts in the mall. i think that’s the only service we pay for.

What’s a store you’ve never been inside at your preferred shopping mall?
there are many. gialucchi salon & spa. bobbi brown salon. jeans warehouse. alpha video. some jewelry store (don’t know the name of it). a few cell phone places. a korean food place. a pho place. a filipino food place. the paint shop. blockbusters, when they were still here. some flying thing. a furniture shop. and several nail salon places.

What kind of store would you most welcome in your preferred shopping mall?
we really need a cheese curd place (hint, hint, LJS! come here!). i’d also like the steak place to come back.

What did you most recently purchase at an office supply store?
i bought a big bin that came with dividers in it so i could organize my 6 days of lesson plans & supplies needed for those 6 days, so it would be all in one place and not get lost among the current day’s stuff.

What did you most recently purchase at a book store?
books? 😛 i bought $75 worth of books, which gave me $25 off. yay!

What did you most recently purchase at a drugstore?
my painkillers and a bottled water.

What did you most recently purchase at a convenience store?
a bottled water and a bag of chips (i was craving something salty).

What did you most recently purchase at a thrift shop?
i got a few uniforms from the thrift shop at my son’s school. they’re used uniforms, but only $1 each! and they’re still in good condition. my son is not the type where his uniforms need to be brand new (like how my niece is) so it’s a good deal for me.

Responses

  1. Sounds like you scored a TERRIFIC thrift store find! I got my adorable little pink/white totebag at Goodwill when I was wandering around, trying to determine how to value the stuff I dropped off. I stopped purchasing with the tote because my goal in going to Goodwill in the first place was to have LESS STUFF at home, not more. But it’s tempting.

    I was mad when our Border’s closed because it was always busy. Our neighborhood supports bookstores. I was upset that we lost our store, and people lost their jobs, because the chain had trouble in other parts of the country.

    • UGH! Yeah, at one of our shopping malls, they closed Barnes & Noble, not because no one went–it was very popular, with its author talks and read alouds for children and small jazz bands playing live at times–but because its lease was up, and the owners decided to give the lease to a clothing store instead. BOO!!! That just sucked so bad. I think we only have one store left here, and it was nowhere as big as the one that closed was. So maddening.

      I agree with you on how tempting a good deal is! I always tell myself I need to get rid of stuff, not buy more! But sometimes the deal is just too good to pass up.

  2. I’ve mastered the art of eating those chocolate covered ice cream bars

    • I need some tips for that! I also drop pieces.

  3. I hope you get a good report from your doctor.

    • Thank you!

  4. I don’t know if I’d be lining up to try the Filipino food place at the mall, either. Very dear friends of mine are Filipino and they have shown me pictures of some of the native dishes……no way am I eating pig face or a baby chick one day before hatching. lol I have had several that are totally delicious, though.

    • I know!!! Nor would I ever touch pig’s blood. A bunch of my colleagues are filipino, and I’ve been invited to their parties, and I usually go hungry 😛 All the things they love makes me shudder! Although I do like lumpia, but as long as there’s no banana in it. But the rest, I usually just politely decline. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

