Posted by: malia | March 15, 2014

saturday 9: unicorn

Saturday 9: Unicorn

1) This song was recorded by The Irish Rovers. While it’s said that on St. Patrick’s Day everyone is Irish, can you honestly claim Irish heritage?
i think a smidge. i think i have a scottish-irish mix but much more scottish than irish.

2) According to the 2000 Census, Massachusetts is the state with the largest percentage of residents of Irish descent. Have you ever been to The Bay State?
no, i haven’t. i did date someone from boston, and he was full irish. i didn’t realize there were so many other irish people there.

3) Other than St. Patrick, what is Ireland famous for?
potatoes? u2?

4) St. Patrick’s Day is celebrated the world over. They even watch marching bands and wave Irish flags on St. Patrick’s Day in Moscow. Does your town have a St. Patrick’s Day parade?
i don’t think so? there may be one in the touristy town several miles from me, though.

5) “The wearing o’ the green” is one way to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day. Will you wear something green in honor of the day?
no.

6) Have you ever had green beer?
no.

7) Have you ever ordered a Shamrock Shake at McDonald’s?
yes, but not for myself–it was for my son. he said it was okay.

8) A four-leaf clover is considered good luck. Do you have a lucky charm?
i had a four-leaf clover that i found once when i was younger, that i kept pressed in the pages of a journal i had. i have no idea where it is now, though. i also had a rabbit’s foot when i was younger, which my aunty gave me, that i was horrified was to learn was real. i kept it on my purse, though, so not to displease my aunty, but i don’t know that it gave me good luck. at least, i didn’t carry it around because i thought it gave me good luck. i don’t think i have anything of the sort now, that i think of as something that gives me good luck.

9) Speaking of Lucky Charms, they are magically delicious. What brand of cereal is in your kitchen right now?
i think i still have a leftover box of vanilla chex. i had bought a bunch of boxes during christmas time to make goodies for as gifts, and i think i still have a box leftover. as you can see we’re not big cereal eaters, so that’s why i still have the box. 😛 if not for that box, i wouldn’t have any cereal in the house.

Responses

  1. I don’t eat my cereal with milk; I eat it dry.

    • yes, I never could stand milk with cereal. I always ate it plain.

  2. I was horrified too when I learned a rabbit’s foot I has was real.Thank goodness that trend is long gone

    • I know! Especially now that I have a bunny the same color as my rabbit’s foot was. I can’t imagine him footless 😦 all for what? just a silly superstition!

  3. I never did understand a rabbit’s foot. Very grotesque.

    • I agree! Who came up with that idea?

  4. I had high hopes for green beer–that it would taste different… but it still tasted like beer.

    • It isn’t even minty?

  5. I still have a four leaf clover that my mother found and put between two pieces of tape. She carried it in her wallet. I don’t remember the so called magic for luck involved with a rabbit’s foot. But I remember seeing them hanging somewhere at the Fair a few years back.

    • They’re still around? Yikes! I was hoping that fad died out long ago!


Leave a Reply

Categories

