Posted by: malia | February 15, 2014

saturday 9: as time goes by

Saturday 9: As Time Goes By

1) This is the theme song of Casablanca, generally acknowledged as one the screen’s great love stories. In honor of Valentine’s Day weekend, what’s your favorite movie romance?
oh, i don’t know this song as from that movie, i know it was the title of one of my favorite tv shows! it’s still quite romantic, though. and i guess that doesn’t answer this question as it’s asking for a movie. hm. ghost always turns me into a sobbing mess. and i liked the grease movies although i never saw grease 3. oh! and i just recently saw love, actually on netflix, which had its moments. that’s about all i can really think of.

2) Even though he was only 5’8 and had a receding hairline, Humphrey Bogart was a popular leading man. What movie or TV actor or actress makes your heart skip a beat?
if i wrote all the ones i was in love with you’d definitely know how old i am! haha! let’s just say right now…he’s not so much a leading man, i don’t think, but darren criss makes my heart skip more than a beat. not only is he nice-looking, but he can sing and play guitar & piano, and he dances, AND he’s a sweetie off-camera, as well. or at least, he gives off that persona in interviews. and that’s more important, to me, than looks. but he’s got that, too, so *sigh* a total package. too bad he’s not 15 years older.

3) Sweethearts are those little heart-shaped candies that are printed with messages like, “Be Mine” and “Kiss Me.” Do you like how they taste?
i did when i was younger. now i think they are too sweet, and a bit chalky.

4) Valentine’s Day is a big day for florists. When is the last time a floral arrangement adorned your table or desk?
well, it wasn’t an arrangement, but it was a single rose, and that was yesterday. it wasn’t the whole bouquet that a co-worker got from her fiancé, which she carried around with her *everywhere* #showoff but it was enough to let me know that someone cares. the last time i got a full arrangement was…gosh. years ago, i think, from an ex-bf who was trying to win me back. it had a balloon, too, if i remember, that said something to the effect that “the best things come in small packages” but instead of small it had to do with quietness. 🙄 it was delivered to my workplace, but unlike my co-worker, i did not carry it around with me everywhere so that people could see and comment on it, nor did i take a picture of it and plaster it all over Facebook. 😐 haha, yes, i’m bitter. 😉 and i wouldn’t have done that even if i HAD welcomed it. it seems like a lot of people like getting flowers because it shows other people that they are loved, but for me, i enjoy the *thought* that flowers bring, that someone’s thinking of you, and cares about you enough to have them delivered, brought over, etc., just to make that person smile and feel happy. so i don’t share them with everyone–i just keep them for myself, and smile whenever i pass by them or smell them. 🙂 *offmyhighhorsenow* 😛

5) Do you think an e-card means as much as a conventional card in an envelope?
sure. it still means that someone thought of you to send it. to me, it’s all the thought that counts. doesn’t matter what the thing is, but the fact that the person thought of you enough to give it to you. there are so many people in this world who wouldn’t give me a second thought that i value the ones who do think about me. 😛

6) Despite what you see on Valentines, the human heart isn’t bright red. It’s really a brownish shade of red, like a brick. Now it’s your turn. Share some trivia that’s been rattling around in your head. (It does have to be about Valentines or the human heart. It can be any random fact at all.)
okay, not sure which one, so i’ll give a heart one AND a random one. the normal heart skips beats about 100 times a day, according to my cardiologist. that’s how he waved off my complaints about my heart skipping beats. that is, until i had to wear a heart monitor for 24 hours, that showed my heart skipped 3,000 times in a day. 😮 yeah, right, for it being all in my head. i never felt so validated! he still waved it off as nothing though “because you’re young.” um, “young” people still get heart troubles. bleah. okay, and the random one? bees are quite furry, whereas wasps aren’t.

7) When is the last time you thought your heart would break?
it breaks quite often. not only physically, like with that heart-skip thing, but emotionally, as well. the other day a co-worker was telling me about the background of one of her students. man. that just broke my heart. i don’t know why some people have children, i tell you. well, i know why, but they should’t keep them.

8) What is the most recent thing to lift your heart?
i guess getting the rose yesterday. and my kids were so loving.

9) Who is the most “hard hearted” person you know?
well, the person i’m thinking of will probably deny it, but i kinda think that he’s very unfeeling and lacks in understanding people because he’s so unsympathetic. i wouldn’t say cruel or callous, but just…indifferent, i guess. and there are worse out there, sure. but he’s the person who leaps to mind right now.

Responses

  1. Love Actually is one of my favorite movies!
    I know what you mean about people who feel that they must put on a performance with their flowers–I am just the opposite. When I’ve been in relationships I’ve always made it known that I am NOT one of those people and PLEASE do not send me gifts/flowers at my office! 🙂

    • Yes, Facebook has been exploding all yesterday and today with all the gifts and stuff people got from their loved ones. One of them even took pictures and posted all the stuff that her *daughter* got from admirers. 🙄 Her daughter is only 12; I wouldn’t be plastering that stuff all over the internet! It’s just another form of bragging, I think! I tend to enjoy my little gifts keeping it to myself. 🙂

  2. How sweet about the rose! That is such a loving story.

    • thanks!

  3. Before I retired we had someone like that in the office. Her husband always sent a huge flower arrangement which all day long she was constantly rearranging.

    • haha! yikes! i guess i’m much more a private person!

  4. A single rose is still a message, in flower talk. And I think you need a new doctor! Gad! I wonder how far down his class he graduated.

    • Yes, a single rose is just lovely, I think. 🙂

      And, yeah, people keep telling me to change doctors. I probably will when I need to go to a cardiologist again. Luckily, he’s not one I have to see very often!

  5. I think you need a new doctor. Any doctor who dismisses your concerns doesn’t deserve any more of your money.

    • That is true. I don’t like to be told it’s all in my head when it feel so real. Makes me feel dumb. 😦 That’s why I really like it when I’m validated, like that heart monitor I had to wear showed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

