Posted by: malia | February 3, 2014

musing monday

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.

I am currently reading Reading With Meaning, the second edition. I loved, loved, loved the first edition–I considered it my bible, and it is the one gift I give all new teachers, with the urging to read it from cover to cover. It is so great. Well, just recently, I had heard there was a second edition. So I had to get it, even though I had the first. I have this one, however, on my Kindle app. The first edition I have 3 hard copies–one for my classroom, one for home, and one in my file cabinet. I just bought one of the second edition, which I can carry around anywhere with me on my phone, so I don’t need to have multiple copies. 🙂

What I think of it so far–it’s pretty much the same, so far. It seems the organization is a bit more different, giving timelines and such, which would be even more helpful for newbies, I think. I haven’t really gotten that far, though, as I’ve been distracted.

I chose it because I was trying to get my mind off certain things. I’ve been waiting around in waiting rooms the past couple of days and to distract myself from the morbid thoughts that creep into my mind, I decided I needed to read. So what better than read about things for work, since I’m missing it? Helps me feel like I’m doing something, even if I’m just sitting in a waiting room. It makes me feel like I’m at least increasing my schema and learning something that I can incorporate into my lessons as soon as I’m able to return.

I’m enjoying it so far, but not as much as I could be, I think, because I’m just so distracted by other thoughts. I find myself flicking the pages back every so often because I realize I just forgot what I just read. I think I would have enjoyed it more if my mind had not been cluttered with these thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Categories

