Posted by: malia | January 25, 2014

sunday stealing: ask me meme

all right, cheating a little and doing this saturday night instead of sunday, but only because i’m bored.

Ask Me Meme

1:What was the last argument you had about?
well, it wasn’t really an argument–we were debating what the definition of literature is. i think if you’re talking about arguments as in a heated argument, i’d have to say it was probably with my son. it wasn’t all that heated, though. just “stop sassing and do as you’re told.” i know, i’m awful.

2:How long is your longest relationship?
well, there’s the one with my family that has been all my life. 🙂 romantic relationship…it was almost 3 years.

3:What is something not many people know about you?
that i have a blog. 😛

4:Two truths and a lie. Go.
i’m a published author.
i’m being recognized for my contributions at the workplace.
i danced for the governor.

5:Do you believe in fate/destiny?
no.

6:Where is somewhere you’ve always wanted to live?
when i was a teen, i wanted a beach house on kaua’i. then when there was a tsunami scare, i wanted it up on a cliff on kaua’i. heehee. but now i’m deathly afraid of driving up cliffs, so now, it doesn’t really matter; just somewhere nice and peaceful. i wouldn’t mind hilo–after being there two years ago, i really got nostalgic and wanted to be there again. maybe one day.

7:Has there ever been a song that made you cry?
has there ever *not* been a song? heehee there are so many songs that make me a bawling mess.

8:Do you jump/scare easily?
yes, i do. i’m always jumping when people start talking to me and i didn’t see that they came in. i also swear that i always see a little girl near my doorway, and that always makes me jump and do a double-take.

9:Which birthday has been your favorite?
i can’t recall. i do remember the one that was the saddest, though–my sister’s best friend, who was like another little sister to me, had passed away at a young age, and her funeral fell on my birthday. that was the roughest birthday i had ever had. not only to see that we’re having a funeral for a person younger than me, but just seeing the pain on her family’s face–the way they all crumpled together and started wailing and hugging each other as they walked away from her casket–man. that was so, so, so hard to go through.

10:Have you ever been pulled over? Arrested?
i was pulled over for speeding once. i, unlike my colleagues, did not get off with a warning though–i got issued a ticket (not cute enough like they were to get out of the ticket!). i didn’t realize that i was going fast–i was just trying to get home because i was breastfeeding at the time and i had been at work all day and then a meeting afterwards, and my sister who was babysitting my son had called me to say he had drunk all the milk i pumped, and there was nothing left, and he was starting to get hungry, so i left the meeting early and didn’t get to pump because i figured i’d be home in 45 minutes anyway, and i was feeling like i was going to explode, and i knew my son was hungry, and … yeah. i apparently was going 62 in a 45 mile zone. whoops. i was very apologetic, but i still got the ticket. :/

11:Have you ever been to a fortune teller?
no, although i’m kinda curious about it. i know i’d be totally skeptical about it and probably have a bad attitude going in, but i just kinda want to see what sort of things would be said about me, so i can laugh.

12:What’s your favorite series of books?
right now, my kids and i are really into the magic tree house series.

13:Who is someone that you think knows the most about you outside of family?
i think that would have been one of my best friends who has since passed away (that was another hard one!). i don’t know if there’s been anyone that close ever since.

14:What is the weirdest thing you’ve eaten?
i don’t know. people will probably think that eating raw fish or limpets is weird, but it’s not so weird here.

15:List one of your quirks.
i need to have my car parked exactly in the middle of two lines. i will reverse and reverse until i get it right (much to the frustration of my passengers!). i do this all time, yet, at home, i purposely park over the line so that others don’t park in my extra stall. but it *really* bugs me to do this.

16:State 1 bad habit of yours.
i procrastinate a lot. i’m not as bad as my colleague, but i think i could save myself some stress by doing things earlier.

17:Has a scary movie ever given you nightmares?
i don’t watch scary movies, because, yes, i will get nightmares! 😯

18:When was the last time you got your hair done in a salon?
i have never had my hair done in a salon.

19:What was the last thing you did with your friends?
hung out a bit.

20:What’s something that you like to do that others might see as weird?
i think there’s tons of things i do that people look at me as if i’m weird! i know my colleagues are always looking at me like i’m weird! heehee!

21:What was the last trip you took?
last summer, i went to kaua’i to scope out plots for my new home. heehee! no, i just went on a vacation with my son who had wanted to visit there. we went to maui 3 years ago, hilo 2 years ago, and kaua’i last year. this year, i’ve already told him that i can’t afford for us to go anywhere this summer 😦 he made me feel better by saying that was okay–he already got to visit the places he wanted to, and he was happy with that. aww. so understanding. *sniff*

Responses

  1. I like your answer to #3–no one in my “real life” knows about my blog either!

    • it’s nice, huh? i like having this little “secret.” 😉

  2. Omg that quirk–I do the same thing!!!

    • phew! i’m glad i’m not the only one! people get so frustrated with me because i won’t let them out of the car until i’m perfectly in between the lines. 😳


Leave a Reply

Categories

