Posted by: malia | January 18, 2014

saturday 9: best song ever

Saturday 9: Best Song Ever

♥ ❤ ♥ ❤ ♥
my guilty pleasure 😳

1) Dancing all night to the best song ever would be good for the cardiovascular system. When is the last time you exercised?
it would have to be the summer, before i hurt my back. once i hurt it i couldn’t exercise all that much. i did try to do a couple of laps around our loop that we have here, but i couldn’t make one lap without pain. 😦

2) The girl in this song is the daughter of a dentist. “Dentophobia” is fear of dentists. How do you feel about going to the dentist?
i remember a time when i was about 4 or 5 and we went to the dentist and i refused to open my mouth. they kept trying and i kept turning my head away. gosh i was a brat. the other things i would remember was the strong smell of something–ammonia? whatever it is that keeps things sparkling clean. i also remember hating the way they said my name–they had thick accents, and the way they pronounced my name just irked me. the dentist and the aide were husband and wife and all they would talk about to coax me into the chair was how pretty i was, and i was like yeah, that’s not going to work with me. hee! when you’re not told that often you get suspicious. as i got older, i wasn’t as bratty and i would have good checkups–i’ve never had a cavity. once my first dentist retired, we started going to a dentist that my sister worked for. he was very skilled–he got things done quickly. but he insisted on this procedure to remove my wisdoms. i went to the oral surgeon for a consult and he said i was fine–they didn’t need to be removed, i’ve had them that long (i was in my late 30s) and they haven’t bothered me, so i should be fine. but when i went back to my dentist, he insisted that i needed to get them out. his nurse assured me that insurance would cover the whole thing. so i went back. the surgeon was like i sent him a letter saying you didn’t need to, did he not read it? and i was like, i don’t know, he keeps telling me i need to get it done. so the surgeon was like well, all right, if you want to. but i’ve been in the business long enough to know that you’ll be fine. but if you think this will keep the dentist off your back… i didn’t want to, but i figured ah, just do it and get the dentist off my back. so i did, and what a mistake that was. not only did i have a hard time healing from that, but insurance didn’t cover it at all! i had to pay the whole thing! then my credit card company was suspicious of the huge charge so they closed my account which i didn’t know about until i got the letter 2 weeks later–but for 2 weeks i was wondering why i couldn’t use my credit card anywhere–kept getting denied. then when i went to the dentist for follow-up, they didn’t even mention the surgery, PLUS i had to pay for the visit because i was informed my insurance was all up! i was so upset! so i paid that bill and never went back. i was also fed up with the inflated charges of my son’s dentist (i swear, it must have all went towards the balloons and stuff they used to give–the dentist specialized in kids because my son did the same refuse-to-open-mouth thing i did so i had to send him to that dentist who only worked with kids. sigh.) but they were always quick to sign him up for his next checkup, and i was always too wimpy to say i would change. my son was older and outgrew needing all those balloons and gas to calm him down and all that. so it just so happened my mom took him once because i had work, and so she didn’t schedule the next appointment because she didn’t know when i’d be available. i took that chance to then find a dentist who would take me and my son, since i hadn’t been to one in three years by then. i found one very close to where i live (the others were at least 20 miles away) and i really liked him. he was thorough, explained things well, and was quite handsome. 😀 plus, the best part–i paid $9 for BOTH me and my son, whereas before i’d pay $90 for just my son! so now i’m happy, and got over my …well, not fear, but i guess *detesting* dentists.

3) One Direction performed this on Good Morning, America. Do you watch morning TV? If so, which show?
i don’t watch tv period. i don’t own one that works. but i do watch a lot of youtube, and i think i will have to find this clip then. i so ♥ this group. 🙂

4) Listening to upbeat pop songs like this one makes Sam feel young. When is the last time you participated in an activity commonly connected to childen (like swinging on a swing, drinking chocolate milk, playing a board game, etc.)?
i wonder if that’s why i like listening to their upbeat songs (i don’t care for their slow ones). maybe because it does take me back to being a teen again. hmm. anyway, i think i do a lot of things connected to children because that’s my line of work. but this question reminds me of when i was in high school. my friend and i would color in coloring books when we were feeling blue. well, it wasn’t me so much that was blue–it was her–but she would bring her coloring book and a box of crayons, and i would sit with her in the counselor’s lounge and color with her. it did make me feel young and like a kid again. i would have to do that soon. i wonder if she still does this. she actually did well for herself–ended up becoming miss universe. but i remember back then, she was very depressed. i’m glad she’s doing better.

5) One of the boys, Louis Tomlinson, was an actor before joining the band. How many different professions have you tried? What were they?
besides doing what i do now, i was a clerk-typist. i actually really liked that job. i was spoiled rotten there 🙂 being the young girl among all the older men. i guess some would say it’s creepy but i actually liked all the attention. 😛 sometimes i think i would like returning to be a clerk-typist, especially when i’m so stressed at my current job. i know i won’t get any attention from men any more but i think it will be a nice job to have. well, depends on the co-workers, i guess. i guess that’s a determining factor in any job, really.

6) The fans that have made One Direction millionaires are also the target audience for series like The Hunger Games, Harry Potter and Wimpy Kid. Do you read Young Adult literature?
no, although i wonder if i should, since my son is now getting into that. he loves the whole wimpy kid series, just completed the hunger games series, and i just got him the harry potter series at a recent book warehouse sale. it’s making me want to read these books so i can see what’s so interesting, but i just don’t have the time any more. my reading time is filled with other professional books. sigh.

7) If this is the “best song ever,” what song do you consider the worst? Tell us which song just sets your teeth on edge.
well, technically, it’s not THIS song that’s the best song ever, it’s the song they were dancing to that was the best song ever, and only because he really liked the girl so it made him really like the song, like he says, he doesn’t remember how it goes or what the words were, but it was the best song ever because here he was dancing with the girl he really liked. okay. now i’m embarrassed because i guess that just showed i listened to that song way too much for me to analyze its lyrics! haha! :blush: anyway, i don’t know what the worst song is. i’m sure there are a few right now that would set my teeth on edge, but right now all i can think of are happy 1D songs. 🙂

8) One Direction performed at the Royal Variety Show for Queen Elizabeth. If you found yourself presented to Her Majesty, what would you say?
“hello.”

9) Right now, is your life moving in the right direction or are you feeling a bit aimless?
aimless. i don’t know. things have been weird lately.

i seriously do ♥ this band and this song and i’m so tickled pink that this was the song in the meme today. 😀

Responses

  1. It made me smile to read how enthusiastic you are about this song. I also think it’s wonderful that your son is a reader.

    • haha now I’m all embarrassed about that. *blush*

      My son read a lot as a young kid, but somewhere along 3rd or 4th grade, he didn’t read, and didn’t even want to go to the library any more, which broke my heart. But I guess now with like the Hunger Games and Harry Potter movies, he’s gone back to reading, for which I’m thankful.

  2. I was introduced to 1D by my students. As far as music they obsess over, they’re not bad!

    • Yes, they’re not that bad as far as current music goes. I guess they remind me of my teeny bop days when I was into that kind of music. Some of the other music now just leaves me scratching my head.

  3. I hated the dentist as a kid too. I remember gagging every time they put that fluoride on my teeth.

    • I think for me it was all the pointy instruments that scared me. It was like, what are you doing with that sharp thing and why are you poking in my mouth with it??

  4. I had never heard of this band. I loved your story about your troubles with the dentist – well, loved is not the right word, perhaps, but I certainly sympathized and empathized with your tale of woe. It can be tough to find good health care.

    • Yeah, it’s tough to find someone who not only knows what he or she is doing but also really cares about you and not having it all be about money. It’s kinda like dating; you’ve got to weed through the pebbles to find the precious gem. Erg, I probably messed up that metaphor but you get what I’m saying! haha!

  5. I never heard of One Direction, now I know how my mother felt when I listened to the Beatles.

    • I had actually not heard of them when they first hit and were popular–it was much later, and I only got into them because I was watching someone on YouTube who had done a cover of one of their songs, and I thought, wow, that song is catchy. Then I looked it up and got hooked.

      I am nowhere near their target audience, though. I am actually old enough to be the target audience’s mother. So while I should feel about them as your mother did the Beatles, for some strange reason, I really like them. Maybe it is the midlife crisis rearing its ugly head!

  6. I think that if you haven’t read the Harry Potter series then you are missing out. I loved them! I read and re-read them at least once a year. The books are so much better than the movies. 🙂

    • I’ll try them out this summer perhaps. I just keep hearing how much I’d like them. I think it would help me get pop culture references, too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

