Posted by: malia | January 5, 2014

sunday stealing: the generic meme

The Generic Meme

1. What did you want to be when you were little?
i wanted to be a teacher. i thought it would be a good “mommy” job, because i knew in my heart that’s what i wanted–to be a mommy. but boy was i wrong about teaching.

2. Would you prefer to have a large group of friends, or a small group of friends? Why?
i would prefer a smaller group. like even on Facebook, there are people who have hundreds of friends, but i keep my circle small, and prefer it that way. you get really intimate with the group you do have rather than just kinda spot-touching everyone and not really getting to know them well. i always had a small group in life and i think that went over to the online persona as well.

3. What is your fashion “style”? Or what type of clothes do you wear on a daily basis?
i just keep it casual when not at work, more professional when at work. i like things long and flowy and girly sorta, which is why i don’t like our t-shirt days at work. to me, that’s too casual. but anyway–long and flowy and girly. that’s me.

4. If you could live anywhere where would you live?
i don’t think i’d change where i live now, though maybe go back a few years when it wasn’t so congested. i get so sad every time i see a new development about to pop up–all i think of is yuck, more traffic, more people, more crime. it was perfect when i first moved here–not many people, no traffic, and very quiet. but it’s changed so much in the past 5 years. sigh.

5. What is your biggest hope for the next year?
that i and my family (mostly mom) remain healthy enough to see the next year.

6. When you pass by reflective surfaces do you check yourself out?
no.

7. Favorite genre of movie as well as TV show?
i like smart comedies. also, if it has music that i like, i’d probably watch it.

8. Top favorite books? (limit of 5)
i do have a few favorite books but they are all picture books–books i read over and over with my kids. i just love them and hope that the kids not only love them as well but get the message out of them. nothing pleases me more when i see them then want to check out those books at the library, as well as a few others from the same author, or similar ones. 🙂

9. Have you ever taken a cooking class?
yes, as a child. our neighborhood recreation center held different classes on the different days of the week, and my mom signed us up for all of them–probably to get us out of her hair for one more hour! nah, i know it was to socialize us because we were all very shy. but one of the classes–fridays–was a cooking class. you just showed up with a quarter (to help pay for ingredients) and you’d help out in cooking some sort of thing–usually it was like cupcakes or cookies, but sometimes we made things like fried rice and stuff. it was pretty cool, for a kid.

10. What three words would you use to describe yourself?
gross, sad, old.

11. Favorite animal?
dolphins! i also have a collection of monkeys. and i’m starting to really like owls. quite a few people have been getting me owl things lately, and they’re so cute.

12. What is your dream job?
i would love to be a background dancer to a major rock star or something! i’d get to travel the world, stay in posh hotels, have a staff to look after me, and i’d get to dance! i’d actually more wish to sing but i know that i can’t and don’t want to subject the audience to that! 😛

13. If you could go back in history to any moment that you did not live, what would it be and why?
i really don’t know, because women weren’t treated very well. maybe an ancient polynesian society where women ruled just as handily as the men did. i’d be lost without my computer, though.

14. If you could have any superpower, what would it be? Why?
i’d love to be able to transport myself places. that would cut down on commute time! then i can sleep longer. 😛

15. What is your favorite movie?
grease always had a special place in my heart because my sisters and i used to watch it every single day, at least once, when we were younger. so seeing it reminds me of those times. plus, john travolta with his dark hair and lovely blue eyes–*sigh*–i’m thinking that’s why i am more attracted to that look. all started with danny zuko, darn it!

16. What is your best childhood memory?
well, the grease thing, since i just talked of it. but let’s see–another one that stands out for me is my 4 year old birthday party. it was at the beach. it was a big thing, as my mom didn’t believe in throwing a big party for the first birthday, as is tradition here, because she says the kid doesn’t get to enjoy it at one yeas old. but at 4–especially since we were going to be starting school–we would remember it and be able to enjoy it more. and i do remember it. i especially remember seeing my recluse uncle, who never comes out to things, walking across the gigantic field to where our tent was (quite a ways from the parking lot, so you could see who was approaching from far away), with a big frog doll on his back, obviously my birthday present. i didn’t care much for frogs, but i loved that thing–it just always conjured up that image of him walking across the field with that big doll (it was bigger than me), when he rarely showed up for things. i kept that giant frog doll around on my bed until i moved out, i think! but yeah, that memory really sticks out in my mind, especially because that uncle never comes out and for him to come and be so conspicuous with that big doll–all for me–is just a really happy moment for me.

17. What is your favorite part about blogging?
i enjoy writing, even if it doesn’t seem that way with all my complaining i do, especially in november. but i like writing and exploring why i think different ways (which comes out in the writing) and then i try to get better. if blogging didn’t exist, i’d still write in journals and such, but it’s so much easier to type 🙂 and sometimes you get feedback which is nice. i also enjoy reading others’ blogs even if it makes me feel more down about my own writing. it’s just a good community that is online, and you’d never have known all these interesting people if not for that.

18. What is your favorite quote?
i’m not a quotey person. i don’t remember quotes. i’ll see quotes that i really like and go ah! i must remember that. but, of course, i never do. my boss gave us a book of quotes because we are supposed to share one special quote a day with our kids, but…i never did. i read through it, and picked out a few, but again, i never remember them, nor do i remember to share them with the kids, so … oh well.

19. What song do you feel like describes your life the best? Why?
ha! i don’t know why this all of a sudden popped into my head when i read that question: “i am in misery / there ain’t nobody who can comfort me” 😛 i’m not that miserable, but after a rough holiday season, i think it fits for this point in time. as far as my whole life…i have no idea. i have to really think about that. i don’t think there is a song–i’d have to create my own 😛

20. Would you describe yourself as shy or outgoing?
hmm. is that the antonym of shy? outgoing? i wouldn’t have thought that, the way some people claim they are shy but are always out and needing to be amongst other people. i must be a recluse then. 😛 i’ll surprise my niece by showing up at her birthday party with a gigantic power puff girl doll on my back so she’d remember me years later. 😀 heeheehee! i would definitely say i am shy. i always have been, and i think i always will be. that’s just me. 🙂

Responses

  1. I started a journal when I was very young and kept a journal until blogging came around. I am sure if I stop blogging I will start a journal again.

    Happy Sunday!

    • Thanks! Yes, I would continue to journal as well–it just might look a little different from the ones I had when I was younger!

  2. So many of us on these meme wanted to be teachers when we were young!
    I love your description of your childhood memory–very sweet!

    • Yes, that surprised me! I think my reason was very selfish, though, haha!

  3. I’m like the only person who didn’t want to be a teacher. oh well.

    • haha, well I found out that it’s not all that’s cracked up to be. I would go back in time and slap some sense in me if I could.

  4. I’d like to teleport, too! Then I wouldn’t worry about driving in winter weather.

    • Ooh, yes! That’s a good reason, though–mine is more of laziness! 😀

  5. I think it’s great that you knew all along that you wanted to be a mommy. And I agree, “smart comedies” are rare treasures!

    • I did, but it’s been a struggle. It would hurt to see people who didn’t really want kids end up with so many yet for me who wanted it all my life, it was hard. Life is funny that way. I miss the “smart” comedies like Frasier; I need to find a new one. Seeing others talk about The Big Bang Theory and then seeing the first episode makes me want to check that one out.

  6. There are a ton of “I wanted to be a teacher” comments! But being a background dancer sounds like a whole lot more fun.

    Smidgens, Snippets, & Bits

    • Yeah, I was surprised by that, too! But, yes, wouldn’t that be great to be on tour, as a singer or dancer? Be pampered and treated and all that stuff? *sigh* I can only dream! 🙂

  7. Loved your answers. I’m another wanna be teacher, and was ready to go back to college for training just before the twins turned up. lol. I was going to train for special ed and bi-lingual classrooms. About blogging. You like to write, and I do it for that reason, too. It’s a great journal substitute, and your relatives can delete it when you leave the premises.

    • That’s true! Although I was told once that even after something is deleted, it still remains in the archives! Since then I’ve been careful of what I post–I still write a lot but I don’t always post everything!


Leave a Reply

Categories

