Posted by: malia | December 29, 2013

sunday stealing: new year’s eve reflection

Questions for a New Year’s Eve Reflection Meme

1. What was the single best thing that happened this past year?
i think my nephew graduating was pretty great. 🙂

2. What was the single most challenging thing that happened?
the car breaking down at an inconvenient time.

3. What was an unexpected joy this past year?
my niece.

4. What was an unexpected obstacle?
related to the car thing–financial stress.

5. Pick three words to describe 2013.
hazy, crazy, lazy.

6. What were the best books you read this year?
i’ve read tons of stuff for my work, and i can think of a couple that really stood out, but i don’t think it would be interesting to people outside of my profession.

7. With whom were your most valuable relationships?
as always, family. and there were a couple of others that really helped me out with the car thing.

8. What was your biggest personal change from January to December of this past year?
well, i was doing all right until christmas.

9. In what way(s) did you grow emotionally?
i’d like to say i am more mature now. ha! probably just a smidgen more.

10. In what way(s) did you grow spiritually?
a smidgen.

11. In what way(s) did you grow physically?
i really hurt my back badly during the summer which now limits my exercise, so without my daily exercising, i think i’ve put on a few.

12. In what way(s) did you grow in your relationships with others?
i’m trying to be really civil in work relationships. it’s hard to ignore the irritations and just try being cordial. in family relationships, i’ve tried to be really understanding without letting too many of my judgments come in. i’ve been reaching out to one, though, and i hope it’s helping. in personal relationships, within the past three months i met two really nice guys who seriously dropped everything and jumped right in to help me out with that car thing (it seems like a running theme in my answers, heehee), even if we didn’t know each other that long, and i was really grateful. i can feel our relationships getting stronger each day.

13. What was the most enjoyable part of your work?
summer break. well, except for that hurting the back bit.

14. What was the most challenging part of your work?
parents and some of my co-workers made it especially challenging.

15. What was your single biggest time waster in your life this past year?
the internet.

16. What was the best way you used your time this past year?
well, i was doing really good with the housecleaning this summer, until i hurt my back. i liked that things are more organized now.

17. What was biggest thing you learned this past year?
that nice people do exist. i was jaded there a while. 😀

18. Create a phrase or statement that describes 2013 for you.
very clichéd, but it was a journey.

Responses

  1. The internet is my big time waster too. Hope your back is feeling better! Happy Sunday

    • Thank you! Happy Sunday to you, too!

  2. I hope you’re getting some physical therapy for that back issue. It does help!

    • I haven’t yet–it was just suggested to me a couple of weeks ago to go to a chiropractor to help with that. I’ve been trying to do some stretches my doctor told me to do but when my back seizes up, I can’t stretch very long! Oh well, something to look into for the new year. Thanks!

  3. The vehicles can definitely cause the financial stress, can’t they? My husband’s truck needed $3000 worth of engine work….a mere 1000 miles after the warranty expired. 😦

    • Ugh!!! How do vehicles know when to break down? That always seems to be the case with warranties 😦

  4. I hurt my back years ago and I still have bad bouts with it

    • yikes! That’s what I was wondering, if this will be a recurring thing. I guess I just have to get used to it.

  5. Car-related financial issues are so stressful. Glad you had some help!

    • They are! Thanks!

  6. Lovely to have met some guys you like a lot. Car troubles caused that? Best thing, yet, related to car troubles I’ve every heard. Happy New Year!

    • That’s a positive way to look at it! haha! Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

