Posted by: malia | December 8, 2013

sunday stealing: i amuse myself

The I Amuse Myself Meme from FoxyDanish

01. What is something that you have lost recently?
two weeks ago, i had lost my library card within a minute of using it. i had gone to an unfamiliar library to get a book and checked out, but somewhere along the way from exiting the library and walking to my car in the parking lot, i lost the card! multiple times i retraced my steps, emptied out my pockets, looked all over the car seat. i even looked under the car! i just couldn’t find it. i even emptied out my wallet and purse, even though i hadn’t taken those things in with me (i just took the card and my keys with me into the library). i was mystified. i spent at least 10 minutes looking for the card. i finally had to leave because it was dark and i was in an unfamiliar neighborhood where i always get lost, and i figured, well. just gotta pay the $10 to get a new one. yesterday, as i was about to step into the car, i saw it, on the side of my car seat, where i know i checked that night. it was in plain view, and the card is bright red, so you’d think i would’ve seen it that night, or in fact any other day that i used the car these past two weeks (which was daily!). strange. at least i don’t have to pay $10 now!

02. Do you own any self-help books?
i don’t think so. well, hmm, i seem to recall once our boss buying us all this “chicken soup for the soul” type of book but i don’t know where it is right now, nor did i ever read it.

03. Do you live near the sea or ocean?
not right near, but i could get to the beach within 7 minutes by car. i am far enough away though to not be in the tsunami zone.

04. Have you ever spent ages making/writing something on your computer when it suddenly crashed and you lost it all?
in the early days, years and years ago…i’m much better at saving often now. and, actually, with my computer’s time machine, i guess i don’t have to worry about that, but it’s a habit i got into so i do it often. it’s just a simple command-s at the end of every paragraph or so. no biggie.

05. Do you enjoy food shopping?
not particularly? it’s nice when they have samples out because you can get new ideas or new tastes, but otherwise, it seems rather mundane. which is what i think of all shopping, anyway.

06. What are you having for lunch?
hmm, i don’t know yet. yesterday i had a good bowl of stew from the concession stand, of all places, and it’s kinda making me want more. but it depends where we will be, and what the availability is.

07. Are you one of those people who can sleep through anything?
no. i’m awakened by noises often, from something dropping/falling to one of the animals crying. i think i was always that way but it became especially strong when i became a mother. every little stirring of the baby would wake me up. he’s 12 now but i still wake up when i hear something from his room. he, on the other hand, can sleep through thunder, the smoke detector going off, kids thumping around and screaming upstairs…but all i have to do is stand by his door and say his name, and he jumps up awake. i always thought that that was so strange, because i don’t have a very loud voice and am not yelling at him–i just say his name, and he stirs and gets up, yet other noises can’t wake him. when i was telling my sister that, her husband overheard and told me he was the same way–right outside his bedroom window as a child was a siren for the state’s emergency alert system that goes off whenever there’s tsunamis, hurricane warnings, earthquakes, etc, plus once a month for testing purposes. he said that would be going off, and it wouldn’t wake him, yet his mother calling his name from the doorway would. so funny!

08. Do you like love letters?
of course! who doesn’t? i think that’s one thing that was in common for all my exes–they all wrote me long, loving letters. i loved loved loved receiving them. i’d read them over and over and over. *sigh*

09. Have you ever received or written one?
yes, i’ve received many, and i’ve written a bunch myself. it’s making me wonder if any of them saved the ones i wrote the way i saved the ones they wrote. probably not. haha!

10. How far does your nearest relative live?
well, it used to be right in the same complex, but they moved a couple of years after i moved into my place. then it would’ve been 2 villages over, but they just moved last year. i seem to be driving them all away! 😦 but i’d say about 8 or so miles? the next town over, anyway.

11. Do you like velvet?
not really. it feels weird to me.

12. What kind of art do you like?
most types of music. for visual art, nothing too outlandish. i just saw recently on fb an article about art made out of shadows of trash, and it was pretty cool, until i saw what was in some of the trash–dead animals. ick. that grossed me out. i wouldn’t like seeing something like that, no matter how cool the shadow it makes on the wall.

13. If you went to London, where would you go first?
sigh. i was supposed to go to london, too. the first place he would’ve taken me would be straight to bed. but i imagine that after that he would’ve taken me to all the regular touristy sites of london. i know he wanted to take me to oxford, to show me the places he wrote about, so i could see them with my own eyes. sigh.

14. If you had to pick one friend who is the most interesting, who would you pick?
well, others may find it boring, but i just met someone who is a math fellow and i am so fascinated by that all. i especially like that when he talks it isn’t to show off how smart he is. he only talks about it when i ask him questions, but i love when things are deconstructed like that. it’s so interesting. again, not everyone’s cup of tea, but i like it.

15. Can you think of the meanest thing you have ever done/said to someone?
hmm. i’ve done some pretty mean stuff, but the meanest? hmm. i don’t really know. probably blame something on someone else, and then they got the consequences? that’s pretty not nice.

16. What magazines do you read?
i don’t read magazines now, but i used to subscribe to a bunch of them–from glamour to cosmo to people to rolling stone. i even subscribed to a few magazines dealing with my career. although i loved getting the mail, it got to be too much, so i have nothing now. plus everything’s online so i don’t have to subscribe anyway.

17. What/who has been on your mind today?
well, since i just wrote about him, the math fellow. also, my ex from london, especially since it was his birthday yesterday. but the day has just started, so i know my mind will be cluttered with many other things by the end of the day, including what i need to do for tomorrow.

18. Would you be interested in ghost-hunting?
NO. WAY. i’ve had to deal with enough spooky things, never mind going out to hunt for them!!!

Responses

  1. Velvet does feel weird.

  2. I lost my ID for work and found it in the exact same spot you found your library card! I guess I need to start looking there first when I lose things!

  3. It makes me sad when I realize that I no longer remember my ex’s birthdays … or the exact sound of their voices. I know it’s part of moving on and probably healthy. But I was in love once and it leaves me wistful to think that what was once so important now isn’t.


Leave a Reply

Categories

