Posted by: malia | December 7, 2013

saturday 9: stand by me

from here.

1) “Stand by Me” is one of the songs John Lennon did at his last public performance back in 1975. First recorded by Ben E. King, “Stand by Me” was also covered by Mickey Gilley and Otis Redding, among others. Can you think of another song that has been recorded and then re-recorded by someone else?
well, i guess it’s a cheat but i think of all the songs on glee. some are even better than the original, in my opinion. for some reason, “dancing in the street” just popped into my head. i learned about it through the david bowie and mick jagger version but i know it was done earlier. and the first album i bought was because of 2 covers: “i love rock and roll” and “crimson and clover.”

2) The lyrics say, “Whenever you’re in trouble, you can stand by me.” Tell us about someone you know you can count on.
well, i guess it’s family. sadly, i can’t name anyone from work any more. i used to have a bunch, but they’ve all transferred or retired. that just made me so sad. 😥 anyway, there are certain family members that i can count on if i’m in trouble. i just had car trouble and called my mom because i had no idea what to do. not that she knew, either, but she was able to find someone (my brother-in-law), and then she rode down with him to make sure we were okay, even though she had been ill and was having back trouble (i did not know this until days later!). and then there’s my brother-in-law, who, even though he’s going through a rough patch with my sister, dropped what he was doing to come out and help me. i thought that was so nice–he could be bitter towards me, but he still came to help. my other sister (not the one married to this brother-in-law) has always been one to be counted on, too–actually both my sisters are, although one is going through some stuff right now, so not always around. but my other sister has always been there if i needed something; she is very generous and willing to go out of her way to do things. i just always feel uneasy asking her for stuff because she’s got all the kids to deal with, too, but despite how busy she is, she will always make time and go way out of her way if she knows you need help. i’m so grateful to have such a great family.

oh, and still related to this car trouble, i made a friend who went out of his way so i could get to a workshop, which i thought was nice since we didn’t know each other long, but he still quickly offered to help when i told him of my trouble. he even offered to pick me up, which i declined because i knew he had to sleep because he had another night shift, but i thought it was so nice of him to offer. then at the workshop someone else offered me a ride home, and we’ve been meeting up to talk about work stuff, but i can tell that this would be another person i could count on in the future. so nice.

sorry. i guess that was more than one person. it’s just that i’m very appreciative, especially since i just went through some trouble. it was nice seeing who is there for you and quick to offer the help.

3) While “Stand by Me” was solo Lennon, John is best known as one of the Beatles. Which group do you listen to more often — The Beatles or The Rolling Stones?
ah, the ever asked question. my mom was a beatles fan, and my dad was the biggest rolling stones fan there is. he dragged all of us to their concert movie, he was first in line when their new album came out, and i think he even got the videos. since he controlled the stereo, that is all i heard every single weekend. well, he did play beatles songs, too–“penny lane” comes to mind now as one he used to play, as well as “why don’t we do it in the road.” but it was far more of the rolling stones that i’d hear growing up. now, though, if i had to choose, i’d probably choose the beatles. i just love the innocence of songs like “i wanna hold your hand” and “i saw her standing there” (which some people may say were not, but my mind doesn’t go there). and my sisters and i would always dance and lip sync to “twist and shout,” so that brings up a lot of happy memories as well.

4) Lennon liked to tell how, when he and Paul McCartney were teens, Paul’s father used to discourage friendship between the boys. Paul ignored his dad’s advice and the result is the most successful songwriting partnership of the 20th century. Tell us about a piece of advice you’re glad you ignored.
that i needed to be married to have a kid. if i waited for that, i would have never had my son, and i can’t imagine life without him.

5) John loved cats. When he was a teenager, he first met his favorite, a stray he named Tich, in the snow and gave the cat a safe, lifelong home. John was very proud that Tich lived to be 20 years old. Tell us about a pet who has a place in your heart.
my first ‘chilla. he was so great. i had been wanting one for some time, so one day i took some of my graduation money and went to the pet store to purchase one. he was discounted, because he had a patch of fur missing from his leg, but the salesperson assured me he was the most friendliest one he had ever encountered. i seriously thought it was just a sales pitch, that they wanted to get rid of him because he was “unsellable” with the missing fur, but i got him anyway. but he seriously was so great–i realized after i had gotten others that he really was the most friendly one! the others i’ve gotten have been so skittish. but he would come when called! none of the others have ever done that. he would ride around on my shoulder as i walked around the house! i wouldn’t even attempt that with any of the others. and when i was going through a bad breakup, it was like he knew. he came over to me when i was crying once, and nibbled my nose–their sign of affection. awww. he was so, so great, and i was so, so heartbroken when he passed away, about a decade later. in fact, it was the day of my son’s first birthday party so i spent most of the party with puffy eyes and a red nose. i have a picture of him on my old tv stand that makes me smile and sad at the same time, whenever i look at it. he has a special place in my heart, not only for being the first but for being the best.

6) John unsuccessfully tried hypnosis in his quest to stop smoking. Have you ever been hypnotized?
no! i don’t want to, either. although i’m fascinated by it, i wouldn’t want to lose control of myself that easily! that kinda scares me.

7) John has been inducted into both the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the Songwriters Hall of Fame. What Hall of Fame would like to see yourself in?
i don’t think any of them would like to see me in there! not even the hall of fame for losers would want me. 😦

8) John had a passion for slot cars and raced them on an elaborate track in his game room. What games or toys do you still enjoy?
😳 pokemon. i really need a new ds, though. i thought i could find some online black friday deals but alas, they’re still too expensive.

the other thing is jacks! my sister bought a set to show her daughters how to play, so she and i played a game, and boy do i miss playing that! so now we play often, whenever i see her, and my niece is really getting into it.

9) John wrote about his jealous streak. What personality trait of yours do you wish you could change?
my sister used to play that song all the time 🙂 i admit, i get jealous, too. not overly, but i do get resentful when i see others get things and i’m looked over. i wish i could just be happy for them and not be so selfish, wondering where’s mine. sigh.

Responses

  1. #3 For me it was the Grateful Dead, I used to go to all the concerts around the northeast and buy their records.

  2. I love it that you took the “unsellable” chilla and gave his lifestory a happy ending!

  3. Pokeman will return again I am sure of that

  4. I haven’t played jacks in 40 years. I used to be quite good at it, though.


Leave a Reply

Categories

