Posted by: malia | April 28, 2010

The Facebook Meme (aka The FaceTwit Meme)

seen here.

It’s a little longer than usual but I just couldn’t stop in 140 words or less. Sorry.

1. Facebook has now surpassed Google in number of users and traffic.
How much time do you spend on Facebook? If not FB, do you use Twitter?

wow. i now spend quite a bit of time on facebook. well, not a lot of time, but i do check it nightly. it has become my new twitter.

i did use twitter, but i tweeted to myself. at least on facebook, people respond to my statuses. i don’t know–i felt like i didn’t belong there. i feel more welcome on facebook; i guess because it’s all my family. heehee.

2. What is Farmville? I do not understand why people are asking me for margarine.

i tried fighting the impulse to start this game for a looooong time, just because i heard how people got so addicted to it. however, i kept getting requests, so i tried it. i check in every other day or so. all of my neighbors are levels and levels ahead of me, but eh. cafe world, on the other hand…

3. Do you war in the Mafia Wars? I do not understand why people are asking me for cows.

no. i have several requests for this one, too, but the title of the game does not interest me at all.

4. What is Cafe World? I do not understand why people are asking me for bullets!

heee! cafe world! i’m addicted to this one. i hate it when i miss my deadline, though, like sometimes when i fall asleep because i’m so tired. then the next day i check and all my food is spoiled. 😳

that reminds me, i better check my cafe.

5. Are you being bombarded with these “See Who Has Been Looking At your Profile – See Who Your Peeps Are?” application request lately?
I don’t understand why people are asking me for my photograph and that of my dogs.

hmmm. no, i haven’t. i get a lot of “38 and single?” ads. harrumph.

6. Which FB or Twitter applications, tags or gifts irritate you the most and why?

those quiz thingies that are ‘do you like me?’ ‘do you think i’m hot?’ ‘would you date me?’ type of quizzes.

7. Every morning I am faced with the question at the top of my Facebook profile page, “What’s On Your Mind?” Now Mr. Online Mailman wants to know the same thing. Does the whole world need to know what I’m thinking at every moment? I can’t write that in a public place ya know. But if you had to answer that question honestly at 9:00 am each morning, what would you say?

at 9am? i’d be reading with my kids. nothing on my mind but trying to get them to understand what i’m reading.

8. Do you know how you became friends and followers with everyone in your list on Facebook and Twitter?

not on twitter–but facebook, yes. they’re all my relatives.

9. Have you ever been deceived online by someone you thought was someone else? How did you know?

hmm. i don’t think so. i did have someone lie about his age. but i didn’t think he was someone else.

10. Do you enjoy chatting via Yahoo Messenger or AOL the old-fashioned way? If so, who do you chat with most online?

ah, the good old days. i still use messenger. i haven’t used aol in a long time! and what about irc? /me loved that. 😀 and then of course, there was saimin. that was really old-fashioned! i kinda miss that.

11. Have you ever been contacted on Facebook or via email under false pretenses, for dubious purposes, or by meddling nosy people in general?

hmm. i don’t think so.

12. Think about it. We are all flitting around making bird noises on the internet. What would the PETA people say?! Can you think of a more suitable animal mascot for Twitter? What kind of sound would we make?

i think the bird is a good mascot for it–birds do get noisy when chattering away. plus, there’s a saying about when birds “talk.” seems to be true.

13. What kind of new cool innovative application would you like to see on Facebook or Twitter? What would you call it?

hmmm. i’m not good at thinking of cool and innovative stuff.

14. Have you ever had to block someone from Facebook or Twitter?

not yet.

15. Do you allow your real life friends to communicate with you there or do you prefer to be incognito to the universe at large?

i prefer to be incognito. family, okay, but no one else. especially with my job, i don’t want people to look me up. that’s not professional, i think.

16. Do you belong to any CAUSES on Facebook or Twitter? If so, what makes you passionate about them and why did you join?

while on twitter, i was a part of twittermoms (well, i guess i’m still a part of them, i still get the emails), and there were all sorts of things for charity, such as the aha tweet-a-day marathon during february and the haiti donation funds. i wasn’t really passionate about it; it was just something to make me feel more a part of that world.

17. Do you know what a Twibe is?

i can guess.

18. Have you ever rage twitted? Tell me!

i don’t think so.

19. I find that more and more people are reading my blogs on Facebook and commenting there. Do you share your blog posts on Facebook? Do you find that it helps or hinders your blog traffic?

nope. i don’t want my family reading that. i want it separate.

20. Wanna be my friend on FB? I have nearly 800 now. At least I’d recognize you!
Don’t you be foolin’ me now. There’s always the dreaded dungeon.
I wonder if there’s an app for that. Hmmmm……

hee. i have like 30. but it’s a nice, manageable number. so i’ll have to pass, but thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

