Posted by: malia | June 13, 2008

friday5: catchup

i haven’t posted in a long while. i just wasn’t feeling like i should. well, i still don’t, but am feeling strangely upset this evening. hopefully these questions will take my mind off of it.

ooo must say though that i do love this new version of wordpress…

all come from friday5.

Friday 5 for April 11: Makes Me Wanna

Among your acquaintances, who’s the best screamer?

my niece. she has a set of lungs. she screams a lot, especially when she wants attention. she especially does it to annoy her brother.

When was the last time you had to shout in order to be heard?

i swear, i feel like doing this all the time, because no one ever hears me. i mean, they hear me, but they don’t listen, i guess. ummm…i had to shout to my kids that day before the last day of school. we were having relays and they couldn’t hear over the cheering, so i had to shout to them.

When was the last time you cheered for anything?

i guess for those kids during the relay 🙂

Whom did you last yell at?

i had to yell at my son this morning because he was taking his time getting ready this morning. the new bus stop is much further away, so we have to leave a bit earlier, but he was just draaaagging this morning! geez!

When did you last lose your voice, or at least find yourself hoarse?

oh it’s been a while. i used to lose my voice all the time last year because my class was tough. but this year’s class has been soooooo good, i haven’t raised my voice at all. except to cheer them on.

Friday 5 for April 18: Overuse

What’s a buzzword or catchphrase that gets overused at your workplace or in your classes?

“accountability.” ugh.

What item in your house has seen too much use lately?

the bed. hee.

What’s a word or phrase your friends would ask you to use a lot less, if you were to ask their opinion?

hmmm. they want me to talk a whole lot more, not less. i guess i say “like” too many times. 80s talk that i cannot erase from my lingo.

What’s something in your life that’s pretty much been used up and needs replacing?

my heart.

In what way have you been overused lately?

ugh. part of why i’m feeling so rotten. people just assume that i will agree with anything, no matter how weird or non-standard-related their ideas may be. when i try to stand up for myself, they dismiss me and my opinions. then they say “we ALL want this.” or “it’s for the children.” and try to make me feel guilty. that’s how i feel like i’m being used. and it’s happening way too often. i don’t think i answered the question, now that i look at it. what does it mean? hmmm.

Friday 5 for April 25: Good, Bad, Ugly

What’s something you love and is quite bad for you?

men. ha.

What’s something you hate and is quite good for you?

i hate cleaning, but it’s supposed to be good for me.

What’s something that’s about equally good and bad for you?

my mind.

What’s something you’ve been told is bad for you but you suspect is not as bad as people say?

people say i need to get out and more and stop staying home. i don’t see a problem in being a hermit.

What’s something most people consider ugly but you consider beautiful?

me? heeheehee. oh, didn’t read the rest of the question. hmmm. smarts.

Friday 5 for May 2: Spicy!

How do you feel about spicy food?

i used to love it! however, my tummy has gotten very sensitive, and i end up with tummyaches whenever i eat real spicy food.

What kinds of condiments do you add to food in order to spice things up a bit?

i guess pepper? it’s the one thing i always use, along with garlic. not too much of a fan of chili pepper water, which my dad used to use a lot. my niece uses it a lot now.

Not counting salt and pepper, what’s your favorite flavor enhancer when cooking?

garlic. i love the smell of garlic. i don’t mind peeling the skin off because it scents your fingers with that wonderful smell 😛 i also use a lot of oregano.

What’s the spiciest food you’ve ever eaten?

wasabi. makes my nose run and eyes water just *thinking* about it.

In what way might some other aspect of your daily life be spiced up, and what’s keeping that from happening right now?

i’ll be unoriginal and say my love life. i need to find someone who doesn’t find me repulsive for that.

Friday 5 for May 9: Needles

When was the last time you had a needle stuck into you?

i had to take a blood test not too long ago.

Who among your friends is the easiest target for needling?

i don’t think i needle very much. 😛

What’s something you can confidently do with a needle and thread?

sew? i’ve done a lot of embroidery, as well as sew things by hand when the sewing machine broke.

About how many phonograph records do you have in your home, and when’s the last time you dropped a needle on one?

i have at least 20. i haven’t tried one in a while, though. there’s too many things atop the record player for me to use it.

Someone told us the other day about someone at a party using a flavor injector to spike a watermelon with vodka. Is this brilliant or is this stupid?

i think it’s stupid, but only because i don’t drink. i can imagine a lot of people enjoying this, though.

Friday 5 for May 16: Old, Young

What makes you feel old?

everything. everywhere i look, i feel old. i’m old! wah.

What makes you feel young?

listening to music and singing along. i don’t care if i look weird singing about my boo.

What was better when you were allowed to do it the old way?

grading. ha!

What’s better now that you do it the new way?

well, the inputting of the grades are much easier now.

What’s something you are old school about?

manners.

Friday 5 for May 30: Forgetfulness

What piece of information do you keep forgetting?

what i need to buy. i always remember when i come home. yes, i should make a list.

What regular event in your life do you keep forgetting?

hmmm. i’m not really sure. i kinda have a good memory about events. there are a lot of things i *wish* i could forget…

How are you with remembering the names of people you meet?

pretty good. well, not of people i meet, but people i know for quite a while. i was able not to long ago to list my whole class of 24 students i had 12 years ago just by going in number order. i could even say their english name, which is not the name they are most known by, or what we would’ve called them (it would’ve only been on their school records). my friend was amazed. then as we walked around and saw former students, she drew blanks on their names, and i had to remind her who they were. she is astounded that i remember the names of students i had years and years ago. but for me, i’m like, how can you forget??!?

What kinds of tricks to you have for remembering to do stuff that falls outside your regular routine?

to=do? ummm. i just try to remind myself over and over and over. things bubble around my mind all the time, and i try to keep it on the surface so i don’t forget. doesn’t always work, but there you go.

If you keep a daily planner, what is it like? If you don’t, why not?

i do not keep a daily planner. things happen and plans change and i don’t want to be disappointed i didn’t get to do something that i wrote down. i don’t know, i don’t even write down dr. appts. i know i won’t look in the book, so why write it anyway?

Friday 5 for June 6: Annoyances

What’s something people do in public that really annoys you, even though it’s probably not a big deal?

swear every other word they say. i shouldn’t even worry about it, but it irks me.

How readily do you ask strangers to stop their annoying behavior?

do i want my head bashed in? never.

What’s something you do in public that probably annoys others?

exist?

What’s your theory about why it’s so easy to get annoyed when one is behind the wheel of a vehicle?

i’m not sure. i know my sister did a study on that for one of her psychology classes. i guess we feel safe within our car. whenever someone does something that could harm that safety, we get upset. i also don’t feel things are fair. maybe it’s my libra talking, but i hate it when cars try to cut in. what about the rest of us who are waiting nicely? so not fair. i hate it when things aren’t fair. it’s what i stress to my kids. it’s what i try to teach my boy. and i know that things aren’t always fair, that’s life. but i hate people who are so selfish that they think of themselves and who cares about the people around them who are doing the right thing? so that burns me up.

What regular, minor annoyance have you learned to tolerate?

teenagers. heh.

Friday 5 for June 6: Sediment

When was the last time you had your hands in dirt?

errr…it’s been a while. i don’t like dirt. it probably was when we were studying plants and i had to scoop dirt into the kids’ seed cups. eww.

When was the last time you had your hands in clay?

that’s been years. i’m not really sure. over 10 years, i would guess.

When was the last time you had your feet in mud?

the other day i went traipsing across the field for yard duty and stepped in a big mud puddle. ick.

When was the last time you had your feet in sand?

i haven’t been to the beach in a long time. i still don’t feel it’s safe.

What part of your life could use a serious cleansing?

my soul.

Friday 5 for June 13: Who?

Who gave you your last balloon, and what was the occasion?

a colleague gave me a balloon for my birthday. sweet, huh?

Who gave you your last scolding, and what was it for?

my last scolding…hmmm. it was probably my boss. i was being scolded for not helping out my colleagues. but was i asked if they *wanted* my help? i think that’s the question that needed to be asked. if not that, then it was from a parent. well, not really a parent, but someone involved in the child’s life. she said i was not giving grade-appropriate work. whatever.

Who gave you your last attagirl, and why?

i guess that would be one of my parents. the last day of school she gave me a big hug and told me that the other teachers should look to me as an example of what a great teacher should be like. then she started crying on my shoulder, saying she was going to miss me. this was the parent, not the child! heehee. but i was touched. she was such a great support, and whenever i felt down because i got scolded by another parent, she always said something so nice to me and made me feel better. too bad we can’t have them all like that!!!

Who gave you your last haircut?

myself? heeheehee i cut my bangs. ummm, the last time i got a haircut was when i donated it a couple of years ago. my mom did the honor of cutting the braid off.

Who gave you your last massage?

a couple of years ago, i was sitting in a chair at my son’s preschool and helping to string some lei, when this woman kept coming up to me and massaging my shoulders, as she was talking (to other people). she would always be lost in conversation with someone, and just come over and start massaging my shoulders, and then she’d look at me, startled, realizing what she was doing, apologize, and walk away. but she kept coming back to me! after like the third time, she stopped, apologized, and asked out loud why she keeps getting drawn to me? she asked if i was alright. then she asked if i was sure. i was starting to get scared. she said she often gets drawn to people who need help (when they are ill). i was sooooo scared. i wondered if i had cancer or something. it was frightening.

hmm. still not feeling all that great. will try and look for more memes…

Leave a Reply

Categories

