Posted by: malia | September 22, 2007

high school meme

from here.

1. What was your best friend’s name?
it differed throughout high school. i’ve never had the one true best friend that’s your friend forever. they seem to revolve. i don’t even know what any of them are doing now, or where they live (all of them went away for college), or what!

2. Did you play any sports?
HA! i was like the most uncoordinated person out there. i went to the football games, though.

3. What kind of car did you drive?
oh geez. i did not have a car until i was 21. i didn’t even have my license until i was 21!!! and if i did have it in high school, there’s no way my dad would’ve gotten me a car!

4. Friday nights, where were you?
home! doing homework. seriously.

5. Were you a party animal?
this is even more of a HA! than the sports question was.

6. Were you considered a flirt?
this HA! would be more than the sports, but less than the party animal one.

7. Were you in the band, orchestra or choir?
i was in the orchestra. i wanted to be in the marching band, though. they got to play “current” music and practice cool formations on the field and stuff. we just stayed in the building and played the same songs no one’s ever heard of over and over again, and only got to walk when we had to go put more rosin on the bow.

8. Were you a nerd?
was i ever.

9. Were you ever suspended or expelled?
no way! i did get busted though once for wearing culottes that were about 3 inches shorter than regulation was (and i was walking with my friend whose shorts were shorter than mine, but she didn’t get busted, i did!), and so i had to call home to tell them to bring me clothes and my dad had to take off of work because my mom didn’t drive and come up to bring me clothes (and they brought the most dorky, but very safe, outfit) and so i felt so humiliated and felt so bad that my dad had to take off work to bring me clothes and then i wondered if they were going to kick me out that when i was walking back to class and passed the principal in the hallway (he was in a grouchy mood earlier, too, when i showed up at his office after the teacher turned me in–he snapped at me), i started bawling like crazy. he had to walk me out and sat with me until i calmed down, explaining why we had rules and how i should organize my closet with school-safe clothes, and clothes i can wear any other time, blah blah blah, i wasn’t really listening because i was SO upset and then i got mad that my friend didn’t get turned in and then i got sad remember my dad’s stern look (he said not a word, which made me knew i was in trouble) when he drove up and my mom hopped out to give me clothes, and then i was all embarrassed because here i am, sitting with the principal, absolutely sobbing my eyes out, that he went into the office to grab me a box of kleenex. i think i really made him feel bad. and horrors of horrors, he still remembered me 20 years later, when we ran into each other at a birthday party for my son’s babysitter. ACK. talk about shame!!!

10. Can you sing the fight song?
OF COURSE!!!!! 😀 and am still proud to hear it now, though it makes me cry, too. i’m trying to teach it to my son, who is attending my alma mater 😀 but i get choked up every time. alas.

11. Who was your favorite teacher?
hmm. no one really stood out as a favorite. they were all good.

12. What was your school mascot?
the warriors. of course. what else is associated with our school’s namesake than war? at least he was among the fighters, and didn’t sit back in his office, sending other people’s children out to fight.

13. Did you go to the Prom?
no.

14. Where were you on Senior Skip Day?
we had a senior skip day?!?!

15. Did you have a job your senior year?
yes, i did. but i worked only on saturdays when school was in session, then fulltime when school was out.

16. Where did you go most often for lunch?
to our dining hall. it’s the only place we could go! not like we had many other lunch options unless you wanted to hike down to the shopping center. but it was a long hike back up! plus, our school’s lunches were pretty good. their shepherd’s pie is to die for! yummm! and haole brownies?!? mmmmmmmmmmm!!!

17. Who was your Senior Prom Date?
i didn’t go to my senior prom.

18. Who was your homeroom teacher?
oh gosh i don’t even remember. we only went to homeroom when there was a special assembly or something, which was like rarely. oh! the art teacher was my homeroom teacher in 9th & 10th grade. ummm. i don’t even recall my 11th & 12th grade homeroom teacher! how sad is that??!?! hmm. i remember meeting in the library for homeroom stuff, so maybe my homeroom teacher wasn’t a classroom teacher. counselor? guidance? gosh, i honestly can’t remember.

19. Have you gained weight since then?
of course.

20. What year did you graduate?
’89. we’re so fine.

21. What do you remember most about graduation?
i hardly remember anything, just everyone dressed in our whites, and we got to have the blue silk lei. i remember standing in the spotlight while they called my name and feeling so embarrased because i had to stand there for 7 words (4 names and “honors diploma recepient”. TORTURE!) i don’t even remember the songs we sang. then i remember going backstage afterwards to get the diploma (they only handed you the sleeve when you went up because if you acted up during the ceremony, they wouldn’t give you the diploma, so you could only get it after the ceremony was over, to prove you behaved during the ceremony), then finding my letter and seeing my family, and even some of my co-workers, which surprised me that they’d come out to my graduation.

22. What did you do after graduation?
my parents had a party for me back at our house. all of the family was there (both sides) and my friend who lived in hilo and whose grandma was the only one who could come down to the graduation came also. it was nice. 🙂

23. If you could go back, would you?
now? or if i could go and be 16 again? i’d love to be 16 again, and know what i know now. i’d have handled things better. but to just go back and relive it? hmmm. maybe. it was a good time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

