Posted by: malia | June 13, 2007

create a connection: yesterday, today, tomorrow

from here.

June 2007!!! Can you believe it? Time passes so quickly, Our lives are so full of family, work and community activities that the days fly by in a blur sometimes. Now and then I stop to think about where I am in life,where I’ve been and where I want to go.

So these questions are geared toward the past 2 decades, the present and the future. Share your life with us!

Where were you in 1987? In school? Working? Single? Married? Attached? What was important to you? What were you doing creatively? Tell us a bit about your life then. I realize some of you were children then…all the better!

in 1987, i was still in high school. i was a sophomore. back then, my life was just school and hula. i went to school, attended all my classes, then went to hula after school, 3x a week. the other 2 days, i would just come home and do my homework. i was a good little girl 🙂 i wasn’t attached, though i did have a huge crush on this guy. my friend regularly embarrassed me as she was trying to get him to notice me, so she’d talk extra loud when he was around, and sorta push me toward him. last time i ever told anyone who i liked! heehee. she also told me this guy wanted to ask me to senior prom, but i think she was lying. she stole my id to give to him, so that he could give it back to me and then “sparks would fly.” but again, i think she was lying. he ended up being a pretty important person in political circles! every time i hear his name on the news, i just think of my stolen id! but otherwise, it was just a typical year in high school.

Where were you in 1997? What would you like to share about the nineties?

in 1997…let’s see. i bought my home. i actually signed the papers in december 1996, and was partially moved in around christmas eve that year, but my first mortgage payment didn’t come until february ’97, and that’s when i felt that i really “owned” my house. i was halfway through my first year of teaching, which started august ’96. i guess 10 years ago from today, though, i was finished with my first year of teaching! yay! and i was adjusting because my good friend was moving. my ex had broken off our wedding the summer prior so i was just getting back into going out again. everything just seemed so new and stuff back then.

Where did you plan to be or think you’d be in 2007? Have your realized your goals? What is one thing about your present life you love and one you’d like to change?

i honestly thought i would’ve been married with at least 2 or 3 kids by now. i just have one child, but am not married. so i met half my goal. well, actually a quarter of it. in my life that i would fantasize about, i was maybe doing half-time teaching, or at least helping out at the school my kids were at. well, no, i actually thought i’d work 10 years, then resign (so i’d get retirement from the state), and then work part-time or half-time at the kids’ schools, or being a babysitter. so i didn’t get to realize that goal, either. 😛 one thing about my present life that i do love is that i have my boy, because for a while there, i thought i’d never have a child. i love him growing up and watching him learn. i do long for another little baby, though. that’s one thing i’d like to change, that we could fill this home up with another little one. i’m content with my boy, but sometimes, i really wish there was another little one around, just because i miss the whole “babyness” of having to change diapers and feeding and watching them take their first steps and say their first words and look about the world in wonder and amazement…*sigh*

How do you see your life in 2017? Do you have any goals or dreams for your future?

all i can think about is, gosh i’m going to be old. i’d hope my heart would’ve thawed enough that i’d have a partner and maybe another child. but as far as everything else, i’m not sure. i always say i want to change my job, but i never do, so i’ll probably be in the same position. i’m dreading seeing my son change into a man. i have a feeling i’ll be very lonely in 2017.

Leave a Reply

Categories

